google-site-verification: google22897f774e98c513.html
top of page
Writer's pictureMadison Rodriguez

I'm Puerto Rican.


One of the most insulting things people can tell me is that I'm not really Puerto Rican. That because I know only the basics of Spanish and can't hold a conversation--I'm not actually Hispanic. It's not my fault that my father chooses not to be in my life. It's not my fault that my grandmother doesn't keep in contact with me either. It's not my fault that I missed out on learning Spanish from second grade--on, because I was put in the gifted program which didn't always provide another language. I'm sorry that the Spanish I have learned from kindergarten, 1st grade, and whatever I've learned from my peers--is not enough for you to consider me apart of this culture. I'm sorry that just because my mom doesn't make the Latin food I eat, I'm not eating "real" Latin food, no matter how authentic the restaurant is. I'm sorry that my knowledge of Latin music and dance is invalid because I'm not listening to it at my grandmas house-- but I am at every party I attend where I live. I AM PUERTO RICAN, NO MATTER WHAT YOU SAY OR WHAT YOU THINK. My nationality has nothing to do with you, the cultures I embrace myself in has nothing to do with you, and you do not have any say in who I am because I know who I am. I'm Madison Rodriguez and I am proud of my Latina background and all that I DO know about my culture.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page