google-site-verification: google22897f774e98c513.html
top of page
Writer's pictureMadison Rodriguez

Songwriting and Music


Hey guys, this is sort of an intimate thing for me to share, so I hope you enjoy it. I am a writer (obviously) and I am a musician. I sing, play handbells, and taught myself to play some piano. My creative attributes led to writing and composing songs as well. For a while when I was younger, I wanted to be a composer, which I thought meant song writer as well. That isn't necessarily true. At that point in my life I don't think I knew what composing music was, but I was in fact doing it as well as the song writing. Piano helped me a lot. I was able to play a note and recognize it from a popular song and in that found the rest of the notes in the composition. The first song I learned by ear on the piano was “Here Comes the Bride”. Extremely corny and weird, but that was it. Anyway, I write songs a lot. I’ve probably been writing songs consistently since I was… 11 or 12. Before that was when I actually wrote my first song. It was in the fourth grade I believe… and the song was called “Nature Girl”. It was to the tune of “Rockstar” by Hannah Montana. (Obviously my views haven’t changed much about the environment since the fourth grade— I love it and have an unyielding desire to protect it.) To reiterate, I really started taking my songwriting seriously when I was in middle school. I actually used to have a binder full of songs I wrote. I have no idea how many I've actually completed since then. Anyway, a couple of nights ago I wrote a song about when I was seventeen… I know—so long ago, right? But I like it and I think it's relatable. I like talking about things I've been through because I know other people have been there too. That's something I like to hear when I listen to songs; to be able to relate and not feel so alone and realize that things aren't always as bad as they seem. I haven’t finished the song yet, but I love when songs just spew out of me like this. It's the best way to write a song. To hear it from the back of your mind and just feel it. To write down what you're feeling and not force anything. I like to call these organic songs. Hopefully when I'm done with my new one I could show you guys. Something I've never done before because of my insecurities. I also want to know if any of you guys write or compose songs too and if I could listen to them. Revealing and sharing your art is beautiful! xx Mad


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page