google-site-verification: google22897f774e98c513.html
top of page
Writer's pictureMadison Rodriguez

There’s no place like home

Three and a half years ago I started my journey at Madewell. I walked into the store and I had never felt so seen. I immediately asked Rija and Lauren how I could apply, and I did. Jenna, my future store director, Interviewed me and we hit it off, by the end of the conversation she had already offered me the job to which I accepted. This was February 2017 and I had just come home from a horrible first experience at University and it was the perfect time to meet a whole new group of friends. People know that I’m obsessed with Madewell but it’s not just the clothes, this store changed my life. These girls changed my life. I had never been a part of such a strong, empowering, beautiful group of young women. I had never been on a team that encouraged each other, helped each other, and inspired each other so much. I felt so accepted and loved, no one ever made me feel isolated or dumb. I learned so much about clothing, leather, and denim. I fell in love with this store, some call it magic. I dreaded January when it was my time to leave and embark on a new journey in Miami. I wanted to transfer but all the Madewell’s were too far away. Eventually I found my way back to J.Crew in Aventura, they had Madewell in the store but it wasn’t the same. J.Crew is a completely different company, Miami is a completely different city, and unfortunately I did not have the same experience. And six months later Madewell found me. They open the store across from my J.Crew in October 2019 and I quickly applied, I missed my store and I missed the encouraging environment. I started in December with a raise and cut hours, and it was worth it for me. I became a part of another wonderful group of empowering women, older and wiser than I was before. They were impressed by me. I acted like I do when I’m in love, I did so much for that store effortlessly, as it gave me love and happiness in return. Coronavirus came and I was graduating and unfortunately I had to leave Madewell again but this time I would transfer back home where it all started. I was so happy to come back and see my friend Rija, once visual manager, now store director. Happy to be under her wing again. There’s nothing like walking into Madewell at the Gardens and breathing in the scent of the store. There IS a scent and it smells like home. It smells like memories and happy girls and woman power! (But let’s not forget Johnny) he’s our only guy and he’s AMAZING. Since I’ve been home, I’ve made a connection with every person I’ve met! They’re not my OG Squad, but they’re my new squad and I love them the same! So happy to be home, please come visit, we’re having some great sales right now and the fall collection is coming soon!


xx Mad




29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page