google-site-verification: google22897f774e98c513.html
top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Rodriguez

This past year (sigh) šŸ˜®ā€šŸ’Ø

It would be crazy if I told you that Hamilton and Olivia Rodrigoā€™s album SOUR perfectly describes my last year, right?


Imagine if Hamilton and Lawrence had built a relationship over a decade long and Burr moved in with Hamilton. Then Burr and Lawrence became friends, imagine how Hamilton would feel. Would he be able to handle the betrayal? Would he be able to coexist and thrive in an environment like that?


I could not.


Every song I sang from SOUR felt like it was meant for me. And for me, it wasnā€™t about a romantic relationship or breakupā€¦ it was about a friendship breakup. Itā€™s one of the hardest things I think a person can go through.


Iā€™m currently still healing from a very traumatic year and every day there are high and lows. I got to see how far Iā€™ve come and how much Iā€™ve grown, how self-sufficient I am, how wise I am in the relationships I choose to build now. I had encountered so much self-doubt and fear. But there are also days when those things still get to me, they blind any confidence I had and continue to have me look inward to try to fix something.


I am proud of how far Iā€™ve come but to be honest every time I go and dog sit one of these houses and I am in a house aloneā€¦ itā€™s hard to face the things I still need to discuss in therapy.


Finding a therapist and a psychiatrist is a lot harder than you think, I feel like nobody answers the phone in the lobby and Iā€™ve left tons of messages with no call back, if you have any advice let me know.


But I hope this post can remind you that no matter what youā€™re going through, I hear you and I see you and youā€™re valid and itā€™s not easy to bounce back from traumatic experiences but every day does get better. I can guarantee you that!


and hopefully youā€™re able to find some sort of support system whether it be your family or some friends on the Internet who lives thousands of miles away. I have found mine and I am forever grateful, I love you.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page