google-site-verification: google22897f774e98c513.html
top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Rodriguez

Countdown to Miami: Day 12


Count down of 12 days till Miami: Day 12. In nearly 2 weeks I will start a new journey in Miami. I am terrified, excited, nervous, anxious, and hopeful. I’m almost 20, it’s been a year and half since I started school, and it’s been almost exactly a year since I left my “first” school. Onto school #3, and I say that hoping that this will be my last move before I’m out of Florida completely. I guess I could go on and elaborate on why I’m feeling so many different emotions at once...

I’m terrified because I barely know anyone, I’m going to feel pretty alone when I get there. I have no idea what I’m doing, I haven’t even been to the campus that I’m living on. And I am definitely intimidated by the traffic.

I'm excited because I finally get to work on my major. I’ve mostly dreaded school solely for the fact that I don’t like working on things I’m not passionate about, and now I’ll finally be working on them!

I’m nervous because I don’t like to ask people for help, it makes me feel uncomfortable, but that’s a part of growing. I have to ask questions in order to learn.

I’m anxious because I really want and need to have a job while I’m in school. I want to continue working with Madewell, but I am not doing the “transfer” process because we don’t know how long it’s actually going to take me to get from place to place. Madewellhas honestly been the best job I’ve ever had (so far). I am so passionate about working with our customers, being knowledgeable in the fashion industry, and the teamwork that goes into working with my girls. I have made such a family at Madewell. They are not my coworkers, or friends; they’re my sisters. I don’t think I’ve ever loved a group of women so much in my life.

And finally, I am hopeful. I am hopeful because I can see myself, no, I SEE myself graduating from this university. I SEE myself, walking down that stage with a diploma in my hands, surrounded by a diverse and innovative future. We are the future of America. We are only getting wiser, because unlike other generations: we see, we feel, and we take action. And I will defend that statement for the rest of my life. The future is only getting smarter and wiser than the last; Always.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page