google-site-verification: google22897f774e98c513.html
top of page
Writer's pictureMadison Rodriguez

Taylor Swift gave me my 'Word of the Year'

What if I told you I'm a mastermind? As we start the New Year, you'll notice many people have moved away from "resolutions" and have started to come up with a word or theme of the year, sometimes both! 


My word of the year was given to me from none other than the Duchess of Pop herself, Taylor Swift. Right towards the end of 2023, I was scrolling aimlessly through TikTok, as one does, and stumbled across a cute CapCut edit for the end of the year. I watched the video play and knew almost instantly that this was going to be my word, Mastermind. But I had to let it sink in. I waited a couple days and thought "Am I sure this isn't just the first spark of inspiration I found?" But no, this was it. Mastermind.


It felt perfect. Mastermind was the perfect word for how I wanted to encapsulate the hand I had on my own future. Last year, I was unapologetic. I started living life for me, Madison, the person. I felt so present. I felt like I didn't have to put on a show for everyone, like I could just live my life as me, and that was enough. My theme was metamorphosis, yes like the Hilary Duff album. I definitely grew a lot this year, I stretched myself and felt like a beautiful butterfly handling it with such ease, comparatively to 2022.


"What if I told you none of it was accidental?" Did you think it was fate? This year, I am the Mastermind. I hold the power to create my own future, the way I want it to be, and I am. Manifesting and my gratitude journals have aided me so much over the last couple of years, but I'm also deciding to take so many more risks this year. Because how are we really living if we don't take risks? I am going to make this year amazing, through hard work and gripping each new opportunity that comes my way with all my might! Nothing is gonna stop me. I’ll lay the groundwork and then “just like clockwork,” the dominoes will follow.


I have so many new and exciting things in store for this year. Each opportunity I take will light the fuse “of a chain reaction of countermoves.” I couldn't lose. The way I’m thinking about this is that I’m the puppet master of my own life. I make the moves, it’s all in my hands. I’m going to make 2024 my B*tch. I’ll have a hold on it, because my life, my growth, and my happiness depends on it. 


Taylor Swift has inspired millions of people, and I’m one of them. You start to realize that all of the people with crazy amounts of success have manifested it themselves (along with the hard work it takes to get there). You name it, Taylor, Ariana, Nicki, Cardi-- they’re talking about it like they already have it… and then it appears. Their confidence inspires and it creates these tight-knit communities of support, the fans. We support them with our money, our engagement, and our voices. It’s a cycle of love, really. We love them. 


(Do I only get my inspiration from pop princesses?) 


Are you gonna be the mastermind of your 2024? What’s your word or theme of the year? I’m dying to know! Leave them in the comments below!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page