google-site-verification: google22897f774e98c513.html
top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Rodriguez

March For Our Lives Speech


Dear Friends,

Unfortunately I was not able to make it to the march today, but I would still like to show my support through my words (and actions) proceeding.

I have anxiety, and since I have been coherent of the mass shootings in my lifetime, it has attacked my anxiety. No matter where I am, it can be school, the movies, out to dinner… I create an escape plan in my mind and I shouldn’t have to live like that. I shouldn’t have to live in fear, and yes, in a way it is good to be “prepared” but I don’t know if this is something appropriate to be prepared for… I shouldn’t live in a country where mass shootings is considered normal. And it is normal here. And it doesn’t matter if you have anxiety like I do, but others think of these things too, it’s disturbing. We are all attacked when one of us is. Guns don’t discriminate, and these guns have harmed so many different types of people. People of all different ages, races, sex, and sexual orientation. We also need to get help for our own people, the people who are conducting these shootings. We must listen to the cues, wanting to harm people is not ok, it’s dangerous. So many innocent lives have been lost and who is to blame? Not only the NRA with their blood money, not only the elected officials, but we are— for not putting new people into office, for not paying close enough attention to who we are circling in November. Through these Parkland students’ courage and adamancy, this march is waking people up and getting them motivated and moving and researching. Hopefully in coming elections we will see more change for the better, and for the safety of our people.

And FYI, “our people” is anyone who comes here regardless of legality. Because America was founded by immigrants.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page