google-site-verification: google22897f774e98c513.html
top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Rodriguez

Meeting My Brothers


It is March 24, 2019 and my heart feels a little more full tonight from meeting up with my brothers after nearly a decade and a half.

They came to my neck of the woods for the Miami Open tournament and afterwards picked me up for dinner. My brother Jeffrey and I have been in contact for years but our conversations became more serious the past couple of months as we’ve been wanting to reconnect. One night we had an hour and a half long FaceTime call reconnecting and getting to know each other.

This time, I finally got to see him and my brother Brian after almost fifteen years. I took them (or they took me) to a local Mexican restaurant called Paquitos (which I’m hoping to review soon, it’s one of my favorites in North MIA). They pulled up and Jeffrey jumped out of the car going in for a hug. We went to the restaurant and caught up on each other’s lives, our relationships with our father, and our personal interests. We all bonded on our quirks and how much we hated Miami. My brother Brian kept insisting that they REALLY LOVE ME for coming out here, which made me laugh and feel good at the same time. Both my brothers said I look the exact same as the last time they saw me, when I was little— which is funny because people usually tell me I look nothing like my baby pictures. It’s crazy how much my brother Jeffrey resembles my younger brother Sean.

After dinner, my brother Brian was craving Dunkin’ Donuts and he read my mind! So we all went to Dunkin’ and got our coffee of choice.

Finally, they brought me back home and we FaceTimed my mom to surprise her that we were all together again. She was literally on the verge of tears so excited to see us all reunited. Before I left, we had to take a quick family photo to capture our reu-night-ing!

Have any of you reconnected with family? I’d love to hear your stories!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page