google-site-verification: google22897f774e98c513.html
top of page
Writer's pictureMadison Rodriguez

Your Lucky Number 7 Susty Gworl Must-Haves:

You either already have these in your house or you need them ASAP!


There’s no guidebook to sustainability and eco-friendly living (I say this vaguely, because I mean of course there are) but it’s a constantly changing and evolving space. The susty niche is literally overflowing with information and different opinions on “best practices”...


So, I thought it’d be fun to pick out some of my most-used sustainable household items and see if you have them too. I’ve been in the sustainable space for such a long time now, but it’s a growing community where new friends and new finds are a constant! I wanted to form this list to see what we have in common and/or PUT YOU ON! Let’s go!



To help rejuvenate your favorite grandpa sweater or get the pillies off the inner thigh of your biker shorts… a portable fabric shaver is a must! It is a part of the general rule: to mend your clothes. This keeps your clothes looking fresh and new, even after you’ve had them for decades. There’s many different kinds, electronic or handheld, but linked is one from Package Free Shop.




To mend your existing wardrobe, of course! Do you know how to sew? It’s pretty simple. I learned in girl scouts when I was younger, but you can easily look up a quick 2-minute video on YouTube. Having a basic sewing kit is another great tool to mend your clothes when needed. Maybe your favorite pair of jeans is starting to make a hole or you need to replace the button on your favorite cardigan. All can easily be done with a simple sewing kit, like this one I found on Etsy.




To adjust that hem! Fabric tape or “fashion tape” can be a simple fix to any wardrobe malfunction or short-girl dilemma. Just put the tape in place, cover with fabric, and iron over it with heat. It’s a little tricky at first, so again I recommend watching a YouTube video. If you head to Michaels and they’re all out, you can always use a hot glue gun in a pinch lol.




4. Bamboo Everything!

Whether it’s a toothbrush, dish scrubber, toilet paper… you name it! It’s biodegradable! So why not use it to your advantage? These are the best type of “alternatives” to purchase because they’re zero waste or compostable. The best way to stop buying senseless plastic products to add to our depreciating ecosystem. Work with the environment instead by purchasing long-use bamboo products! Linked is a sustainable toothbrush from Bite.




It could be a jacket, a pair of pants, or one of those classic button downs… we know you have AT LEAST ONE! Denim lasts a long time and purchasing new denim, though cotton-based, can actually produce a lot of waste water. Purchasing vintage denim saves the planet and your wallet, plus you’re more likely to find one-of-a-kind pieces to add to your fashion forward wardrobe. It’ll lead to one of those “I thrifted it” moments! Awoke Vintage in Brooklyn, NY, has a plethora of options you can choose from!




6. Your Favorite Reusable Tumblr (of the week!)

*We know… you have a problem haha* Don’t we all? Sometimes you just can’t resist picking up such a useful item, like a reusable tumblr– especially when they make them so irresistibly cute these days! No matter where you pick them up or what material they’re made out of… it's the thought that counts: Intention, Dedication, and Commitment to Reducing & Reusing! I’m obsessed with W&P’s Porter insulated Bottle, because you can use it hot or cold.




7. Your off-brand, super niche, Aluminum-Free Deodorant

So what? if we have to reapply! We’re doing better for ourselves and the planet with our super niche, zero-waste, aluminum-free deodorant! I’ve tried so many of these more natural and eco-friendly deos and this one is my favorite, I honestly don’t need to reapply, contrary to a lot of other options on the market. Plus you’ll support a local latina-owned small business when you buy one! Shoutout to my friend, Martha (@motherlover.shop)!


I hope this list can inspire you to make changes in your own life to be a little more sustainable. Please check out the links I tagged in this article. I personally use & love all of these products! I hope to start making more posts like this, because it’s what I’m really passionate about, so please comment, like, and share if you enjoyed! (and stay tuned for more)


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


7 Susty Gworl Must-Haves:

  1. Fabric Shaver

  2. Sewing Kit

  3. Fabric Tape

  4. Bamboo everything!

  5. Vintage denim

  6. Reusable Tumblr

  7. Aluminum-Free Deodorant

Recent Posts

See All

3件のコメント


sharonfelber
2023年4月16日

My reusable Tervis flamingo tumbler and thrift store find, Ello water bottles. I have two water bottles and one more tumbler, in case I have company or going on a road trip.

いいね!
sharonfelber
2023年4月16日
返信先

Oh and 6/7. Don’t have the fabric shaver.

いいね!

teresbrennan
2023年4月15日

I have & use 4 out of 7 I think that’s a pretty good start!!

いいね!
bottom of page